Mt. Pamitinan: A Wet, Wild and Wonderful Climb

“Somewhere between the bottom of the climb and the summit is the answer to the mystery why we climb.”  — Greg Child.

I climb because I love the fresh air and being surrounded by trees, I like being away from the city, it’s a good form of exercise (probably my only exercise!) and of course I climb to see beautiful views. But more than ever, I climb because I need to stop thinking. My head has been H-E-L-L these past weeks. And when I climb, I tend to concentrate on the hike itself, where to put my foot next so I don’t slip or injure myself, which branch to grab to support my weight, etc. There is little room for thoughts other than survival especially when the trail is as challenging as Mt. Pamitinan.

Located in Rodriguez, Rizal, Mt. Pamitinan is just one of the four major mountains in the area. The 3 others are Mt. Binacayan, Mt. Haponang Baboy and Mt. Ayaas.

View of Mt. Binacayan from the summit of Mt. Pamitinan.
View of Mt. Binacayan from the summit of Mt. Pamitinan. “Twin” hikes are doable but probably not on rainy days because it takes longer.

To go to Sitio Wawa, the jump-off point to the four mountains, ride a UV Express from Cubao to Montalban/Rodriguez then ride a jeepney or tricycle to the area.

It is not advisable to climb mountains during the rainy season, but I am a stubborn girl exhausted from overthinking. I needed an escape. Mt. Pamitinan’s trail proved to be exactly what I needed – slippery, muddy, dangerous, filled with sharp limestones.

It's not that clear on my camera but those sharp limestones were definitely terrifying.
It’s not that clear on my camera but those sharp limestones were definitely terrifying.

Around 1/3 of the trail (mostly the latter part leading to the summit) is covered with jagged rocks. So believe all the blogs, BRING GLOVES! I didn’t have a pair. I didn’t get cuts on my hands or anything but gloves would have been extremely helpful for a more confident and secure grip. I hiked Mt. Pamitinan on wobbly knees and bare hands. I’m not sure how I survived!

Because it rained during our hike, the trail was so muddy, in fact it was the dirtiest hike of my life so far! The rain didn’t drown our spirits though. We trudged through mud and survived killer rocks! It was definitely an unforgettable climb.

Bought new hiking shoes. They were pretty reliable.
Bought new hiking shoes. They were pretty reliable. “Nabinyagan” nang bongga with mud. Hahaha.
Leave a Reply

